gfcf_bread

Here’s an added bonus this week – a cookbook review! I read a press review about Celeste Clevenger’s new cookbook (Celeste’s Best Gluten-Free, Allergen-Free Recipes: Over 250 Recipes Free of Gluten, Wheat, Dairy, Casein, Soy, Corn, Nuts and Yeast) and reached out to her to inquire about reviewing it. She was incredibly generous in sending not only the cookbook but also many different flours and some konjac powder for me to try out the recipes. Celeste has a daughter and nephews with multiple food sensitivities and decided to create recipes to feed her family. She has a website that you may also wish to visit.

The cookbook is excellent, especially for those of us with additional allergies above and beyond gluten and casein. One downside is that there aren’t many photos and I would really like to see what some of these recipes look like finished.  Another possible issue is that she does incorporate some unusual ingredients, like konjac powder, that may prove difficult for the average cook to find. I’ve been checking locally for konjac powder and cannot find it; but, I found out that you can order it online. Celeste’s Cookbook also contains a section on substitutions and tips for cooking and baking.

The problem was that with over 250 recipes in this cookbook – what should I choose to make first? I decided to try a bread recipe as she has several and they don’t have yeast in them, which is not allowed in my son’s diet. The bread recipe I started with (pictured above) is simply called, “Gluten Free, Yeast Free Bread.” The bread was easy to make and was surprisingly like regular bread, complete with a crunchy crust. I couldn’t believe how it rose so nicely despite being yeast-free! My husband devoured this loaf very quickly and keeps asking when I’m going to make it again. I strongly encourage you to get a copy of this great new cookbook and try the bread recipes yourself!

 

