Thanks to the generous folks at Gutzy Gear, I received some free Gutzy Straps and Gutzy Patches and was asked to throw a party! What is Gutzy Gear? It’s a fun new way for children to personalize their backpacks with special velcro patches. Because they are velcro, they can be moved around on the special straps and even traded with other children. The straps retail for about $9.99 and the patches (in sets of 2) are about $5.99 (prices in Southern California). You can purchase the patches and straps at Toys ‘R Us and KMart.

boy_gutzyBecause we are a GFCF family, I made sure the menu was appropriately Gluten-Free and Casein-Free. I have found that most people, especially children, will eat just about any type of snack, as long as it looks like something familiar. The menu consisted of GFCF Sugar Cookies (recipe coming soon!), watermelon slices, and 100% Juice Capri Suns to drink. The cookies were a huge hit, even though there were only 2 of us there that needed to eat GFCF. (Side note – don’t be afraid to serve allergen-safe food at a party you are throwing; I’m always pleasantly surprised to see how much “regular eaters” enjoy my food!)

The Gutzy Gear was also a big hit! The party consisted of 3 girls and 3 boys, ranging in age from 5-11 years old. The girls (seen above) are playing a game of Bingo with the Gutzy Gear patch symbols. There was a real “feeding frenzy” to check out the patches when I brought out the different patches for the children.

The children were very excited to get their patches onto the special straps. None of them had seen the Gutzy  Gear product before, but all were excited to show their friends at school and be “the first one” at school with the cool patches. As you can see in these photos, the children are really excited that they were able to decorate their backpacks this way.

Overall, I think that Gutzy Gear is a fun new product for kids. My son is already dreaming about spending next week’s allowance for some more patches!

Disclaimer: Gutzy Gear provided me with  free samples of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

