gfcf_swedish_meatballs

My son and I did some shopping over the weekend at IKEA and it reminded me how much we used to love getting their Swedish Meatball sauce packets (before we went GFCF, of course!). So, I decided to hunt down a recipe to make Swedish Meatballs that I could tweak to be GFCF. And, I succeeded! This recipe is originally from Comfort Foods: Rachael Ray 30-Minute Meals.

The meatballs were so moist and melt-in-your-mouth tasty, that I’ll be using that part of the recipe with spaghetti in the future too! As you can see, I used rotini and not egg noodles because I have not found a gluten-free egg noodle yet.  (If you know of one, please let me know in the comments section below.) But, the rotini worked well because it was similar in texture and weight to an egg noodle.

This dish was a huge hit with both Nicholas and my husband. I’ll definitely be adding this one into the rotation!

Gluten-Free, Casein-Free Swedish Meatballs (Nicholas Rating = 100 Thumbs Up!)

Ingredients for meatballs –

1.5 lb ground beef, preferably organic or grass-fed

1/2 cup gluten-free breadcrumbs (I used Dr. Schar Gluten-Free Bread Crumbs)

1 egg, beaten

1 small onion, finely chopped

4 drops of gluten-free Worcestershire sauce (I used Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce-10 OZ)

salt and pepper, to taste

Ingredients for Sauce –

3 Tbsp ghee (I used Purity Farm Organic Ghee, Clarified Butter, 13-Ounce)

2 Tbsp gluten-free all-purpose flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free Baking Flour, 22-Ounce Packages (Pack of 4))

1/2 cup dry cooking sherry

1 cup organic beef broth

salt and pepper, to taste

1 tsp Gulden’s stone-ground mustard

1/4 cup almond milk (or other milk substitute)

1 bag gluten-free rotini

 

1. Cook rotini according to package directions. While waiting for the water to boil, make the meatballs and sauce.

2. Bake the meatballs – preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all meatball ingredients together in a medium bowl. Form golf ball-size balls and place on nonstick baking sheet (or spray a cookie sheet with canola oil first). Bake for 12-15 minutes.

3. For sauce – melt ghee over medium heat. Sprinkle in the flour and continuously whisk until a smooth paste is formed. Slowly add sherry while continuing to whisk the sauce; cook until sauce thickens. Add broth slowly and continue to whisk until sauce thickens enough to lightly coat the back of a spoon. Turn off heat and whisk in salt and pepper, mustard, and milk substitute.

4. Once the noodles are cooked, toss meatballs and sauce together and pour over top of noodles. Serve immediately.

