coconut oil

I know I’ve discussed my passion for coconut oil in the past on this blog. But, I was given an opportunity to check out another brand of coconut oil and was excited to see the differences between Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil and the Nutiva Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil that I have previously reviewed. Both products, according to their websites, are produced in a very similar fashion – cold-pressed, made from organic materials, and without the use of any harsh chemicals.

I didn’t find any terribly obvious difference between the two products, except for perhaps the aroma and the price. Here’s a comparison list between the two products –

Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil

PROS: melts very fast; comes in an elegant glass jar; is made by hand on small family farms;  looks more like oil, than shortening; did not smell strongly of coconut when cooking.

CONS: higher price ($29.50 for one-quart size), but they do offer sales and savings on shipping sporadically; have to buy a shopping membership in order to purchase from them.

Nutiva Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil –

PROS: lower price (2-pack of 54 oz. jars is $46.50 from Amazon’s Subscribe & Save program, with free shipping); has a slight coconut aroma (some people like this, some don’t); large jar makes it easy to scoop product out for cooking.

CONS: does have coconut aroma (I don’t mind it for most things, but sometimes it does seem to interfere with other flavors in the dish I’m preparing); looks more like shortening (in color); melts slowly; comes in a plastic container; probably mass-produced.

Here’s a short video that Tropical Traditions provided me about their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil:

Overall, I think the Tropical Traditions Virgin Coconut Oil is more of a gourmet version while the Nutiva Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil is more of a generic coconut oil. I’m interested in hearing if you have used either of these coconut oil products and if you see any difference between them. Please comment below!

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

