pound_cake

In my mother’s family, we have an old family cake recipe that we all refer to as “Aunt Agnes Cake.” We often serve it for birthdays and special occasions. It was created by my great Aunt Agnes many years ago and was a real Southern cake, with lots of oil and fat (in this case, eggs). I have missed it since I went gluten-free, so I thought I’d try to re-create it using coconut flour. I’m happy to report that my first attempt turned out pretty well! (Nicholas thought it was pretty great too, and he’s had the original version too.)

Gluten-Free, Casein-Free Pound Cake (Nicholas Rating = 100 Thumbs Up!)

1 1/2 cups honey

1 cup vegetable oil

2 cups coconut flour

10 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp almond extract

Preheat oven to 325. Grease and lightly dust a tube pan with flour and set aside.

Combine honey and oil in large bowl. Add eggs and flour alternately.

Mix in vanilla and almond flavorings and beat until smooth.

Pour into tube pan and bake for 50 minutes at 325 degrees. Check that the cake is done by inserting a toothpick into cake; if it comes back clean, it is ready.

Let cake sit in pan for 5 minutes before turning out onto rack to cool for another 30 minutes.  Slice and enjoy!

