Part of cooking the GFCF way involves trying a lot of alternative products to either enhance or replace products you have cooked with in the past. The trial and error process is always an interesting one, especially when you find a product you really enjoy.  For me, my newest product that I love is coconut oil. The brand I have been using is Nature’s Way  and I found it in a local health food store. When I first heard about it, I thought it sounded incredibly decadent and impractical.  Now, I’m finding I want to cook most everything with it! The best part is that it is really healthy for you too.  I wish you could smell it through this blog post, though, because it would make your mouth water!

coconutBut, like I said, it’s very healthy too.  Coconut oil can help with hair care, skin care, stress relief, maintaining cholesterol levels, weight loss, increased immunity, proper digestion and metabolism, relief from kidney problems, heart diseases, high blood pressure, diabetes, HIV and cancer, dental care, and bone strength. These benefits of coconut oil can be attributed to the presence of lauric acid, capric acid and caprylic acid, and its properties such as antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial, soothing, etc. (Source: Organic Facts.)

There is actually a Coconut Research Center that has extensive information about the health benefits of coconut and coconut oil. As they state on their website, coconut oil is one of the healthiest oils available.  I encourage you to start trying it in your recipes. Or, even just using it to fry up an egg or some sausage.  It adds such a nice flavor, not too overpowering, just a pleasant coconut flavor with a lot of depth that olive oil just doesn’t have. Try it and I bet you’ll fall in love too….

