taco

When we learned that my son could not eat garlic, we found that we needed to clean out the spice cabinet of quite a few items.  This also meant that I had to create my own spice mixes for certain common items we like to eat, like taco seasoning.  I adapted a recipe I found in a diabetic cookbook and came up with the following mix.  It doesn’t produce the dark red-colored meat like store-bought taco seasonings do, but it does taste really good.  This amount of mix will season up to 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix (Nick Rating = 2 Thumbs Up!)

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp granulated onion

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp cornstarch

Stir dry ingredients together in small bowl.  Add to browned beef along with 3/4 c. of water.  Simmer until most of water has evaporated.

 

Other Recipes You Might Like to Try –

Chicken Taco Soup

Guacamole and Plantains

Tortilla Soup

