This week’s product review is of the Chocolate-Flavored Vega One Nutritional Shake. I tested the one-serving size, which was 1.5 oz of shake mix that I blended with 1 1/2 cups of unflavored almond milk. The Vega One shake is touted as a complete meal with 50% of your daily intake of vitamins and minerals, 15 g of protein, 6 g of fiber, and 1.5 g of Omega-3 Antioxidants, probiotics and greens. That’s a lot of healthy stuff to pack into one shake! They are gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free and also do not contain added sugar.  The shakes come in a variety of flavors - berry, chocolate, vanilla chai, french vanilla and natural. gfcf_protein_shake

I found the chocolate-flavored shake to have a slightly gritty texture; this seemed to be more bothersome at the end of the drink. But, the flavor was really great. It tasted slightly sweet, creamy, and almost like a dark chocolate malt. I drank this as my lunch one day to see if it was a true replacement meal. I did not find that I was very hungry for the rest of the afternoon, so I would agree that it functioned as a meal replacement.

I think these shakes would be great for travelling, since all you need is a milk substitute to mix them up. Because they do come in single-serve size, you could easily toss one in your suitcase, your purse, or even keep some at your desk at the office.

